“The Art of Structural Design” Global Competition 2015, amongst Structural and Civil Engineers, has been opened

Release Date: 
Monday, 1 December, 2014
Content Language: 
Press type: 
Press Release

Nemetschek Scia launches the ninth edition of its International Engineering Contest - The Art of Structural Design - with 9,000 € ($US 11,000) in cash prizes.

Herk-de-Stad, Belgium - Scia announced today that it is accepting submissions for its 2015 International Engineering Contest - The Art of Structural Design.  In its ninth edition, this unique competition will focus on inspiring works of civil and structural engineering and the creative designers behind them.

This celebrated biennial contest is open to all users of software developed and distributed by Nemetschek Scia and will be open from 1st of December 2014 until the end of February 2015.

Dr. Ir. Jean-Pierre Rammant, CEO of Nemetschek Scia explains, “Every two years we celebrate our esteemed users in the construction industry and showcase how they contribute to the global engineering community. After every contest we all are astonished how their impressive projects demonstrate what great engineers can achieve with our technology and software tools.

We are proud of our users and last year’s contest broke all records with no less than 127 projects submitted from 28 countries by 97 engineering and construction companies. For 2015, we want to go beyond the composition and aesthetics aspects of any construction project and introduce some new points of attention such as safety, stability under severe environmental conditions, ecology, sustainability, innovation, creative thinking and having deployed a BIM workflow.


About the contest

“The Art of Structural Design” is accessible to all software users of Scia Engineer and Allplan Engineering. Winners will be drawn from each of the following four categories:

  • Category 1: Buildings
  • Category 2: Civil Structures
  • Category 3: Industrial Buildings and Plants
  • Category 4: Special Projects

An international jury of recognized experts and academics will assess all submissions; the main criteria being originality, technical level of difficulty, prestige and the innovative use of Scia’s software.


Winners and Prizes

This contest offers all participants a unique opportunity to demonstrate their technical knowledge and professionals skills globally.

Winning entries in each of the four categories and the ‘Prize of the Jury’ will be awarded 1,500 € (US$1,955). New for this year’s competition is that Scia will organise a special “Prize of the Public”, to be awarded on the results of a user vote organized via Scia’s social media networks. Even more, all winners will be gratified with a personalised short movie of their project.

All submissions will be published in Scia’s The Art of Structural Design 2015 book. Thousands of editions of this renowned book are to be distributed worldwide to press and media outlets, professional associations and to important key players and peers in the structural engineering market. In addition, a shareable eBook for mobile devices will be made available for free.

More information

Practical information and contest regulations can be found in Nemetschek Scia’s website
“The Art of Structural Design - User Contest 2015”: https://contest.scia.net.

Winners of the 2013 Contest

  • Cat. 1 - Buildings
    SICA with the Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations (Marseille, France)
  • Cat. 2 - Civil Structures
    Ney & Partners with “Vluchthaven” Footbridge (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
  • Cat. 3 - Industrial Buildings and Plants
    ARCADIS Belgium with Aircraft Hangar with Offices (Brussels, Belgium)
  • Cat. 4 - Special Projects
    VISIA s.r.o. with Roofing Gas Station (Matúškovo, Slovak Republic)
  • Special “Open BIM” Jury Prize
    Grontmij Nederland BV with New Energy Institute Wuhan (Wuhan, China)
  • Prize for Fabrication and Execution
    AECOM with the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion 2013 (London, U.K.)